The third facet of classification of the 28 types into
four character-types
In the classification into four character-types, the first thing to look for in a type is the dominance of a particular mode. Then we look for the second best dominant mode. Since there are six responses in a type, any string of responses like (1,3,2) or (4,2,0) will not create confusion as to what is dominant and what is next. But look at the following:
(s, r, t) where s = satva, r = rajas and t = tamas
(3, 3, 0)
(3, 2, 1)
(3, 1, 2)
(2, 2, 2)
(1, 4, 1)
(0, 6, 0)
(3, 0, 3)
(0, 3, 3)
The general principle is that when tamas and/or rajas is present they get more weightage, in that order, for purpose of this classification. Thus,
in K-1, three
rajas dominates the three satva;
inK-3, the two
rajas and one tamas together dominate the three satva;
inK-5, the one
rajas and two tamas dominate the three satva;
in V-1, the two
rajas dominates the two satva, therefore rajas is the dominant mode; the two tamas dominates the two satva, therefore the tamas is the second dominant; though tamas dominates rajas, it is not the most dominant since the other two are four!;
in V-2, the one
tamas dominates the one satva, therefore tamas is the second dominant;
in V-4, the zero
tamas dominates the zero satva; therefore tamas is the second dominant, not the satva.
in S-1, the three
tamas dominates the three satva;
in S-7, the three
tamas dominates the three rajas.
The above is the third facet of the criterion. It will be understood if we remember, even as common sense will tell us, that a lower spiritual quality, when present, asserts itself even in the presence of the higher spiritual quality, unless the latter is really strong.
February 17, 1999
Copyright V. Krishnamurthy
Homepage Overview Beginning of this Section Four character-types